恶性胸膜间皮瘤

第一个内容丰富的条件称为恶性间皮瘤。 本文介绍的情况更加详细。

恶性胸膜间皮瘤也称为间皮瘤的一些人。 这种癌症是一种影响到皮,这是一个膜组成的皮细胞。 的重要性,这一条件,因为这是hightened膜覆盖很多机关内部机构,如肺及心脏,并线的胸部,腹部,和周围地区的心脏。

在皮中发挥着重要作用,保护内部器官。 它建立了一个流体,使器官,如肺,推动了机构内。 不同地区的机构,皮有不同的名称。 在胸部,它被称为胸膜;腹部是所谓的腹膜,和周围的心脏,它被称为心包。 当恶性间皮瘤的发展,它通常是在一个这三个领域是,因此,被称为:胸膜间皮瘤;腹膜间皮瘤;或心包间皮瘤。 最稀有的形式恶性间皮瘤影响鞘膜,这是组织衬砌在男性的睾丸。 这是最常见的间皮瘤开始在胸腔。 70百分之五的所有间皮瘤从这里开始,有10 %至20 %的腹部开始( 1 ) 。

最常见的恶性胸膜间皮瘤是暴露于石棉,任期描述六个自然产生的矿物。 曝光时,就会发生石棉纤维均为吸入或吞食进入体内。 然后成为纤维中嵌入的胸部或腹部,作为加重剂多年来。 这种方法的接触有助于解释癌症最终如何发展胸壁和腹部。

恶性胸膜间皮瘤诊断通常是2至3个月后,一个人开始觉得症状。 症状包括咳嗽了血液,肌肉无力,疼痛,腰部,侧或腹部,体重减轻,声音沙哑,疲劳,和流体在胸部或腹部。 因为许多这些症状可以与共同或小病,他们常常被忽视,直到他们变得更加严重( 2 ) 。

医生使用一种结合病史,体检,影像诊断和流体和组织样本进行诊断恶性间皮瘤。 部分诊断过程包括确定确切位置和大小的原发肿瘤。 肿瘤是细胞生长,形成了一个大规模的机构。 肿瘤可以是良性的(也就是说,他们不是癌症)或恶性肿瘤(也就是说,它们是癌变) 。 一旦间皮瘤诊断,下一步就是确定其类型。

三种最常见的类型这里列出:

上皮: 50 % 〜 70 %的恶性间皮瘤是这样,这被认为是最好的预后;

肉瘤样: 7 %至20 %是这种类型;和

混合/双相: 20 %至35 %是这种类型。

(如前所述,也有几种类型的良性间皮瘤可以形成。其中包括腺瘤样瘤,可生长在生殖器官的男性和女性;和良性囊性间皮瘤,它可以生长在皮的女性,近繁殖器官。这些良性肿瘤通常可以去除手术,不导致癌细胞生长的。 )

在恶性间皮瘤,下一步就是对医生的“舞台”的

癌症,使用三个设立分期系统:布查制度的基础是原发肿瘤的大小;的TNM分期系统是指大小的原发性肿瘤,不论是否癌症已经扩散到邻近的节点( N )和是否它已转移较远(男) ;和布里格姆系统阶段的基础上的癌症肿瘤是否可以去除手术(切除)以及是否淋巴结的影响( 3 ) 。

所有这些信息通知类型的治疗,将继续进行。 医生将同一个病人,以确定治疗过程中,最好相匹配,他或她的愿望。 因素,如年龄,体重和一般保健也被认为在确定待遇。

最为常见的治疗是手术,化疗,放射治疗和实验疗法,如免疫治疗。 有些人还可以选择将探讨并推行综合疗法,其中包括瑜伽与饮食和生活方式的变化。 在作出决定前,关于什么样的待遇的追求,个人大力鼓励了解所有可供选择,并讨论了他们的愿望与他们的家庭成员,支持系统和医生。

化疗,放疗和手术治疗是最常用的治疗方法。 使用化疗药物杀死癌细胞的治疗间皮瘤。 化疗药物也可以用来增加的影响,要么辐射或免疫治疗。 它也可以被用来摧毁癌症回来或已转移(扩散)到身体的其他部位。 放射治疗攻击癌细胞不断分裂,并迅速发展。 它也可以被用作一种姑息性治疗,以减少症状。

主要有两种类型的手术:姑息性手术,这可以减轻疼痛和缓解症状,如流建立在肺部和呼吸急促;和治疗手术,这是为了减慢或停止生长的疾病和延长一个病人的生命。 例如,最激进的和侵略性的类型间皮瘤手术治疗被称为胸膜外全肺切除。 这种复杂的外科手术是唯一的表现是当间皮瘤和本地化,由经验丰富的外科医生在较大的医疗中心。 该程序涉及消除影响肺,心包,膈肌和胸腔内壁胸壁。 心包和隔膜,然后重建,使用假肢,并将其置于在病人的胸部。 在这之后接受手术,化疗和放疗都给予耐心,在所谓的多模式治疗计划( 4 ) 。 如果成功,程序和随后的治疗可以延长病人的生命和改善几年来他或她的生活质量。

通常情况下,恶性间皮瘤是可治疗不可治愈。 治疗方法可成功地减缓了经济增长的疾病和减少疼痛和不适,一个经验;但治疗并不能治愈这种疾病。

'恶性间皮瘤的资源:

  • 美国癌症协会。 “什么是恶性间皮瘤” 10月19日2007.Accessed : 2007年8月18号。
  • 美国癌症协会。 “怎么恶性间皮瘤诊断? ” 10月19日2006.Accessed : 2007年8月18日。
  • 癌症的帮助,英国。 “间皮瘤的阶段。 ” 4月13日2007.Accessed : 2007年8月18号。
  • 宝藏,吨等。 “根治术间皮瘤。 ”英国医学杂志。 2004 ; 328:237-238 。 1月31日2007.Accessed : 2007年8月18号。

更多信息可在http://www.asbestos.net/

没有评论

评论已经关闭。

Malignant Mesothelioma

An informative article on the condition called Malignant Mesothelioma. This article explains the condition in greater detail.

Malignant mesothelioma is also called mesothelioma by some folks. This cancer is a form that affects the mesothelium, which is a membrane made up of mesothelial cells. The importance of this condition is hightened as this membrane covers a lot of the organs inside of the body, such as the lungs and heart, and also lines the chest, the abdomen, and the area around the heart.

The mesothelium plays an important role in protecting internal organs. It creates a fluid that enables organs, such as the lungs, to move within the body. In different parts of the body, the mesothelium has different names. In the chest, it is called the pleura; in the abdomen is it called the peritoneum, and around the heart, it is called the pericardium. When malignant mesothelioma develops, it is typically in one of these three areas and is, accordingly, referred to as: pleural mesothelioma; peritoneal mesothelioma; or pericardial mesothelioma. The rarest form of malignant mesothelioma affects the tunica vaginalis, which is the tissue lining the testis in males. It is most common for mesotheliomas to start in the chest cavity. Seventy five percent of all mesotheliomas start here, with 10% to 20% starting in the abdomen (1).

The most common cause of malignant mesothelioma is exposure to asbestos, a term which describes six naturally occurring minerals. Exposure occurs when asbestos fibers are either inhaled or swallowed into the body. The fibers then become embedded in the chest or abdomen, acting as aggravating agents over the years. This method of exposure helps to explain how cancer eventually develops in the chest wall and abdominal area.

Malignant mesothelioma is typically diagnosed two to three months after an individual begins to feel symptoms. Symptoms include coughing up blood, muscle weakness, pain in the lower back, side or abdomen, weight loss, hoarseness, fatigue, and fluid in the chest or abdomen. Because many of these symptoms can be associated with common or minor ailments, they are often ignored until they become more severe (2).

A physician uses a combination of a medical history, physical exam, diagnostic imaging and fluid and tissue samples to make a diagnosis of malignant mesothelioma. Part of the diagnostic process involves determining the exact location and size of the primary tumor. A tumor is a growth of cells that form a mass within the body. Tumors can be either benign (meaning that they are not cancerous) or malignant (meaning that they are cancerous). Once mesothelioma is diagnosed, the next step is to determine its type.

The three most common types are listed here:

Epithelioid: 50% to 70% of malignant mesotheliomas are of this kind, which is considered to have the best prognosis;

Sarcomatoid: 7% to 20% are this type; and

Mixed/biphasic: 20% to 35% are of this type.

(As mentioned, there are also several types of benign mesotheliomas that can form. These include an adenomatoid tumor, which can grow in the reproductive organs of both males and females; and benign cystic mesothelioma, which can grow in the mesothelium of females, near reproductive organs. These benign tumors can typically be removed with surgery and do not lead to the growth of cancerous cells.)

In the case of malignant mesothelioma, the next step is for a physician to “stage” the

cancer, using one of three established staging systems: The Butchart System is based on the primary tumor’s size; the TNM System refers to the size of the primary tumor, whether or not the cancer has spread to nearby nodes (N) and whether it has metastasized distantly (M); and the Brigham System stages the cancer based on whether the tumor can be removed by surgery (resected) and whether or not lymph nodes are affected (3).

All of this information informs the type of treatment that will be pursued. A physician will work with a patient to determine the course of treatment that is best matched to his or her wishes. Factors such as age, weight and general health are also considered in determining treatment.

The most common types of treatment are surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy and experimental therapies such as immunotherapy. Some individuals also choose to explore and pursue holistic therapies, which can include yoga and dietary and lifestyle changes. Before making a decision about what type of treatment to pursue, individuals are strongly encouraged to learn about all available options and to discuss their wishes with their family members, support systems and physicians.

Chemotherapy, radiation and surgery are the most commonly-used treatments. Chemotherapy uses drugs that kill cancer cells to treat mesothelioma. Chemotherapy drugs can also be used to increase the effects of either radiation or immunotherapy. It can also be used to destroy cancer that comes back or that has metastasized (spread) to other parts of the body. Radiation therapy attacks cancerous cells and keeps from dividing rapidly. It can also be used as a palliative treatment to reduce symptoms.

There are two main types of surgery: palliative surgery, which relieves pain and alleviates symptoms, such as fluid build up in the lungs and shortness of breath; and curative surgery, which is performed to slow or stop the growth of the disease and to extend a patient’s life. For example, the most radical and aggressive type of curative surgery for mesothelioma is called extrapleural pneumonectomy. This complex surgery is only performed when the mesothelioma is localized, and by experienced surgeons at larger medical centers. The procedure involves removing the affected lung, the pericardium, the diaphragm and the pleural lining of the chest wall. The pericardium and diaphragm are then reconstructed, using prosthetics, and placed back in the patient’s chest. After this surgery, chemotherapy and radiation are given to a patient, in what is called a multi-modal treatment plan (4). When successful, the procedure and subsequent treatments can extend a patient’s life by several years and improve his or her quality of life.

Typically, malignant mesothelioma is considered treatable not curable. Treatments may succeed in slowing the growth of the disease and reducing the pain and discomfort that one experiences; but treatment does not cure the disease.

‘Malignant Mesothelioma’ Resources:

  • American Cancer Society. “What Is Malignant Mesothelioma?” 19 October 2007.Accessed: 18 August 2007.
  • American Cancer Society. “How Is Malignant Mesothelioma Diagnosed?” 19 October 2006.Accessed: 18 August 2007.
  • Cancer Help, UK. “The Stages of Mesothelioma.” 13 April 2007.Accessed: 18 August 2007.
  • Treasure, T. et al. “ Radical Surgery for Mesothelioma.” British Medical Journal. 2004;328:237-238. 31 January 2007.Accessed: 18 August 2007.

More information can be found at http://www.asbestos.net/

No Comments

Comments are closed.