心包间皮瘤

下面的文章对心包间皮瘤将解释这个条件是什么,是什么原因导致心包间皮瘤和症状

心包间皮瘤是一种与石棉有关的癌症,影响到周围的衬里的心脏肌肉。 虽然这种形式的间皮瘤是有时被称为肺癌癌症实际上并不最初影响到肺部。 心包间皮瘤心包影响,这是医学术语的衬里的心,浆液膜肺。

心包间皮瘤是由于暴露于石棉。 长时间接触和吸入石棉尘埃,这是建立在建设,维护和修理的物品含有石棉,是目前唯一已知的原因心包间皮瘤( 5 ) 。 然而,这并不是完全理解如何石棉尘埃,或微小的石棉纤维,它携带,成为被困在心包或膜。 其中一个理论认为石棉纤维细分肺部和通过血液转移到心包和浆膜膜。 与其他类型的间皮瘤淋巴系统已经显示出,以协助转移石棉纤维的一部分,从一个身体到另一个。 这条路线也可以解释纤维的蔓延,造成心包间皮瘤( 5 ) 。

自蔓延纤维更难这一领域的机构心包间皮瘤是一种非常罕见的疾病。 事实上,这种类型的石棉癌仅占6 %的间皮瘤( 1 ) 。

暴露于石棉和石棉尘埃不会立即导致间皮瘤。 事实上,症状可能需要长达三十年来第一次出现。 这就是为什么它是如此的重要,了解症状的心包间皮瘤如果你有过任何接触石棉粉尘。 认清症状和知识如何查找的早期迹象的疾病可以提高早期诊断的机会,并增加成功的可能性治疗。

症状心包间皮瘤类似症状看到胸膜间皮瘤和包括呼吸急促,胸痛,持续咳嗽,心悸,极度疲劳和光照后消耗或活动( 2 ) 。 尽管这是最好的承认和文件这些症状在早期的进展心包间皮瘤,多数症状不出现,直至疾病进展到后期阶段。

症状心包间皮瘤实际上并没有一个直接后果是疾病本身。 相反,症状,如呼吸急促,胸痛,及心悸,所造成的积累流体的心。 流体不是一个症状心包间皮瘤。 相反,它是一个副产品不断扩大肿瘤( 1 ) 。 由于心包间皮瘤生长在衬砌造成心脏扩大的周围组织。 这种扩大将导致建立过量液体压力对心脏和周围的器官,如肺部。 这种压力实际上是事业的胸痛和呼吸急促。 肿胀组织也减少了空间允许吸入空气,从而降低了氧的机构所掌握。 这减少氧气供应可能会导致极端和早期疲劳。

如果任何人的历史开始接触石棉遭受的症状心包间皮瘤的当务之急是他们求医了。 迅速和正确的诊断是第一步间皮瘤治疗。 一旦诊断是治疗方案,如外科手术,可以提高个人的长期生存率。

为了使医生作出准确的诊断心包间皮瘤许多必须采取措施,并多次试验必须执行。 大多数医学专家的诊断过程中开始了全面的医疗记录。 这将包括详细的历史问题,接触石棉,如日期的曝光,暴露的情况,和持续时间,接触石棉。 下一步在心包间皮瘤测试通常是医疗成像。 大多数医生开始与传统的X射线,以获得全面理解健康的心脏。 从医生那里寻求更详细的CT扫描和核磁共振成像。 活检,一个程序在一个小针插入到受影响的组织,以便撤回样品涉嫌间皮瘤,可以用来进一步证实或否认存在间皮瘤的内壁心( 6 ) 。

目前,这些试验是唯一可靠的方法可用于检测和诊断心包间皮瘤,或者任何种类的间皮瘤。 目前的研究,但是,正专注于开发更精确的试验方法。 这些诊断艾滋病是为了增加成功的机会早期发现和帮助延长生命的人诊断为心包间皮瘤( 3 ) 。

一旦一个准确的诊断心包mesothelomia已经取得了适当的治疗可以开始。 然而,重要的是理解,治愈间皮瘤目前不存在,而且大多数集中处理的形式,而是使病人在舒适的进展的疾病和延长寿命的影响个人( 6 ) 。

治疗方案为心包间皮瘤包括手术,放射治疗,化疗和药物治疗。 手术通常是不建议心包间皮瘤治疗的疾病,除非是处于非常初期阶段的程序时,将是最有效的。 放射治疗的程序,采用高能量辐射其形式可以是一个X射线或放出辐射的材料,插入影响地区的机构,是用来杀死癌细胞和缩小的心包间皮瘤的肿瘤。 这种类型的疗法已被证明是最成功的这种类型的癌症和间皮瘤通常是第一个进行治疗。

化疗,这一程序在药物和化学品注入静脉,也可用于目标和杀死癌细胞。 这种类型的处理是第二个最常见的形式用于治疗心包间皮瘤,但也有高风险的有害副作用。

另一种类型的心包间皮瘤治疗涉及取消液体从胸部和腹部地区。 这些程序, thoracentesis和穿刺,并没有真正治疗或医治该间皮瘤,而不是把重点放在减轻压力引起的流体建立和减轻疼痛和症状,与此相关的建立。

目前心包间皮瘤研究致力于寻找新的方法来治疗和治愈这种形式的癌症。 调强放射治疗( Instensity调强放射治疗) ,动力(光Therpay ) ,基因治疗,生物治疗,新的药物,如塞Veglin和可喜的成果展示,并提供了新的希望的人诊断为心包间皮瘤( 4 ) 。

心包间皮瘤是一种罕见的致命性疾病,有直接的联系与接触石棉。 最大的生存机会在于及早发现,以便大家谁一直在接触石棉粉尘是鼓励寻求内侧定期检查和法律咨询。

'心包间皮瘤的资源:

沃伦武汉:临床表现及诊断间皮瘤。 在间皮瘤:诊断及治理。 编辑Kittle参看。 芝加哥:年鉴; 1987年: 31 。

通行证音响:新兴平移治疗间皮瘤。 公益金1999年, 116:455的S -正式开始供货。 奎因德国之声:心包间皮瘤:诊断困境误导图像。 安胸外科2000年, 69:1926-1927 。

渡边甲,等。 :原发性心包间皮瘤提出为缩窄性心包炎:病例报告。 日循环J 2000 , 64:385-388 。

多德森射频,等。 :分析的石棉纤维在肺组织负担从间皮瘤患者。 超微结构病理学1997年, 21:321-336 。 Kralstein记者:恶性心包疾病:诊断和治疗。 上午心脏杂志1987年, 113:785-790 。

没有评论

评论已经关闭。

Pericardial Mesothelioma

The following article on Pericardial mesothelioma will explain what this condition is, what causes Pericardial mesothelioma and the symptoms

Pericardial mesothelioma is a type of asbestos-related cancer that affects the lining that surrounds the heart muscle. Although this form of mesothelioma is sometimes referred to as lung cancer the cancer does not actually initially affect the lungs. Pericardial mesothelioma affects the pericardium, which is the medical term for the lining of the heart, and the serous membranes of the lungs.

Pericardial mesothelioma is caused by exposure to asbestos. Prolonged exposure to and inhalation of asbestos dust, which is created during the building, maintenance, and repair of items containing asbestos, is the only known cause of pericardial mesothelioma (5). However, it is not exactly understood how this asbestos dust, or the microscopic asbestos fibers that it carries, become trapped in the pericardium or membranes. One theory is that the asbestos fibers are broken down in the lungs and transferred through the bloodstream to the pericardium and serous membranes. With other types of mesothelioma the lymphatic system has been shown to aid in the transfer of asbestos fibers from one part of the body to another. This route could also explain the spread of fibers that cause pericardial mesothelioma (5).

Since the spread of fibers is more difficult to this area of the body pericardial mesothelioma is a very rare form of the disease. In fact, this type of asbestos cancer only accounts for 6% of all mesotheliomas (1).

Exposure to asbestos and asbestos dust does not immediately lead to mesothelioma. In fact, symptoms of the disease can take up to thirty years to first appear. That is why it is so important to understand the symptoms of pericardial mesothelioma if you have ever had any exposure to asbestos dust. A clear understanding of the symptoms and a knowledge of what to look for as early signs of the disease can increase the chances of early diagnosis and increase the probability of success treatment.

The symptoms of pericardial mesothelioma are similar to the symptoms seen with pleural mesothelioma and include shortness of breath, chest pain, persistent cough, heart palpitations, and extreme fatigue after light exertion or activity (2). Although it is best to recognize and document these symptoms early in the progression of pericardial mesothelioma, most of the symptoms do not occur until the disease has progressed into the later stages.

The symptoms of pericardial mesothelioma are not actually a direct consequence of the disease itself. Instead, symptoms such as shortness of breath, chest pain, and heart palpitations, are caused by the accumulation of fluid around the heart. The fluid is not a symptom of pericardial mesothelioma. Instead it is a by-product of the ever expanding cancerous tumor (1). As the pericardial mesothelioma grows in the lining of the heart it causes an expansion of the surrounding tissue. This expansion leads to a build up of excess fluid that puts pressure on the heart and surrounding organs like the lungs. This pressure is actually the cause of chest pain and shortness of breath. The swollen tissue also reduces the space allowed for inhaled air, thus reducing the oxygen available to the body. This reduced oxygen supply can cause extreme and early fatigue.

If anyone with a history of asbestos exposure begins suffering from the symptoms of pericardial mesothelioma it is imperative that they seek medical attention right away. A prompt and proper diagnosis is the first step in mesothelioma treatment. Once a diagnosis is made treatment options, such as surgery, can increase the individual’s long-term survival rate.

In order for a doctor to make an accurate diagnosis of pericardial mesothelioma many steps must be taken and numerous tests must be performed. Most medical professionals begin the diagnosis process with a full medical history. This history will include detailed questions about asbestos exposure, such as dates of exposure, circumstances of exposure, and the duration of asbestos exposure. The next step in pericardial mesothelioma testing is usually medical imaging. Most doctors begin with a traditional x-ray in order to obtain a general understanding of the health of the heart. From there doctors seek more detail with CT scans and MRIs. A biopsy, a procedure where a small needle is inserted into the affected tissue in order to withdraw a sample of the suspected mesothelioma, can be used to further confirm or deny the existence of mesothelioma in the lining of the heart (6).

Currently these tests are the only reliable methods available for detecting and diagnosing pericardial mesothelioma, or mesotheliomas of any kind. Current research, however, is focused on developing more accurate methods of testing. These diagnostic aids are meant to increase the chances of early detection and help prolong the lives of those diagnosed with pericardial mesothelioma (3).

Once an accurate diagnosis of pericardial mesothelomia has been made proper treatment can be started. However, it is important to understand that a cure for mesothelioma does not currently exist and that most treatment forms are focused instead on making the patient comfortable during the progression of the disease and at prolonging the life of the affected individual (6).

Treatment options for pericardial mesothelioma include surgery, radiation therapy, chemotherapy, and medication therapy. Surgery is usually not recommended for pericardial mesothelioma treatment unless the disease is caught in its very early stages when the procedure would be most effective. Radiation therapy, a procedure that employs high-energy radiation either in the form of an x-ray or radiation-emitting materials that are inserted into the affect area of the body, is used to kill the cancerous cells and shrink the size of the pericardial mesothelioma tumor. This type of therapy treatment has proven to be the most successful with this type of mesothelioma cancer and is usually one of the first treatments performed.

Chemotherapy, a procedure where drugs and chemicals are injected into the veins, is also used to target and kill cancer cells. This type of treatment is the second most common form used to treat pericardial mesothelioma but it also carries a high risk for unwanted side effects.

Another type of pericardial mesothelioma treatment involves the removal of fluids from the chest and abdominal areas. These procedures, thoracentesis and paracentesis, do not actually treat or cure the mesothelioma, instead they focus on relieving the pressure caused by fluid build up and relieving the pain and symptoms associated with this build up.

Current pericardial mesothelioma research is dedicated to finding new ways to treat and cure this form of cancer. IMRT (Instensity Modulated Radiation Therapy), PDT (Photodynamic Therpay), gene therapy, biological therapy, and new drugs such as Veglin and Alimta are showing promising results and are offering new hope for people diagnosed with pericardial mesothelioma (4).

Pericardial mesothelioma is a rare and deadly disease that is directly linked with asbestos exposure. The biggest chance of survival lies in early detection so everyone who has been exposed to asbestos dust is encouraged to seek regular medial check-ups and legal advice.

‘Pericardial Mesothelioma’ Resources:

Warren WH: The clinical manifestations and diagnosis of mesothelioma. In Mesothelioma: Diagnosis and Management. Edited by Kittle CF. Chicago: Year Book; 1987: 31.

Pass HI: Emerging translational therapies for mesothelioma. Chest 1999, 116:455S-460S. Quinn DW: Pericardial mesothelioma: the diagnostic dilemma of misleading images. Ann Thorac Surg 2000, 69:1926-1927.

Watanabe A, et al.: Primary pericardial mesothelioma presenting as constrictive pericarditis: a case report. Jpn Circ J 2000, 64:385-388.

Dodson RF, et al.: Analysis of asbestos fiber burden in lung tissue from mesothelioma patients. Ultrastruct Pathol 1997, 21:321-336. Kralstein J: Malignant pericardial diseases: diagnosis and treatment. Am Heart J 1987, 113:785-790.

No Comments

Comments are closed.