腹膜间皮瘤

本文对腹膜Mesotheliomagoes到更明确的细节所涉及的,是如何造成的钛和选择治疗。
腹膜间皮瘤是一种罕见形式的癌症,是非常困难的诊断和治疗,并在大多数情况下,导致死亡。

腹膜间皮瘤是一种类型的癌症,影响衬砌腹部。 这衬砌被称为腹膜,并负责支付和支持机关设在腹腔,并为分泌液,使这些机构将针对对方顺利。 腹膜间皮瘤攻击的细胞在这衬砌使他们的分泌液,从而导致腹部肿胀。 腹膜间皮瘤的肿瘤也杀死健康细胞在腹腔和鼓励增长的不正常的细胞,可扩散到身体的其他部位。

目前仅知的原因,腹膜间皮瘤是一种历史的接触石棉。 这种类型的癌症是由石棉解决微观粒子在腹部内层。 目前它正在证明,含石棉材料的可释放微粒,也称为石棉尘埃,当进行安装,维修,保养,或销毁。 什么是不能完全理解是如何成为本石棉尘埃寄宿在腹部内层。

其中一个理论认为颗粒被吸入,然后运送通过血液或淋巴系统的腹腔。 然而,最广泛接受的理论是,石棉尘埃落定的粮食物品,摄入工人在午餐或进行主页上的服装工人和获准定居的厨房,其他种类的餐食准备。 在这一理论的石棉纤维的摄入随着食品和获准定居的腹部。 在很长一段时间的推移,这些纤维从胃到腹膜他们造成慢性炎症,最终导致癌症的发展。

在接触石棉粉尘腹膜间皮瘤可能需要长达30年生产的症状,但是期间的诊断和死亡是最短的这种类型的癌症。 腹膜间皮瘤是一种类型的癌症造成的石棉,这是极其罕见的,其中包括刚刚三分之一间皮瘤例( 1 , 2 , 3 ) 。

在初期阶段的疾病,如纤维正在进入腹膜,没有明显的症状。 但是,一旦炎症开始第一次明显的症状通常是腹痛。 由于腹痛可以与许多不同的病毒,感染,以及许多胃疾病患者不立即求医的症状。

随着病情的发展会通知受影响的个人的症状,如腹部肿胀(由于过多的液体潴留) ,体重减轻(尽管大小或围在腰间可能增加) ,恶心,呕吐,呼吸困难,食欲不振,和弱点( 3,5 ) 。 在后期症状,如肠梗阻,发热,贫血,以及新发疝可能本( 5 ) 。

通常是在个别处理其中的一些症状为peiod月,他们终于求医认为他们受到更通常类型的消化问题,例如胆结石或疝气。

诊断腹膜间皮瘤很难最佳。 经过确认的历史,接触石棉的医生将运行许多测试,以证实或否认涉嫌腹膜间皮瘤。 其中第一个测试通常涉及成像涉嫌网站。 传统的X -射线可以用来检查腹腔是否有可疑的增长,但核磁共振和CT扫描将提供更详细的观点。

在确定的位置,怀疑间皮瘤最医生将命令组织活检,以最终确定诊断的癌症。 对于一个小活检针插入腹部包块和样本异常组织被删除。 这个组织进行了分析和积极immunostain的calretinin确认准确诊断腹膜间皮瘤( 4 ) 。

与其他大多数案件间皮瘤的中转系统是用来诊断后确定的进展情况和疾病的最有效的治疗方案。 然而,目前没有既定的分期系统可用于与腹膜间皮瘤( 6 ) 。 一些医生可能会选择下阶段的疾病的准则,分期癌症分期系统,但大多数医生跳过这一进程,并立即着手处理。

与现行的医疗选择腹膜间皮瘤治疗往往是不能令人满意的。 手术切除肿瘤并没有被证明,延长生存率,放射治疗并不单独使用,消除肿瘤,化疗已被证明无效,大多数患者( 7,8 ) 。

最有前途的选择涉及多学科综合治疗的方法。 在此方法中放射治疗的目的是减少肿瘤的大小和杀死癌细胞。 这一程序导致疼痛缓解和减少腹部肿胀( 9 ) 。 然后用化疗是通过直接插入到腹部,以进一步缩小肿瘤( 5 ) 。 最后手术是用来消除所有,或几乎所有的可见的肿瘤。 在大多数情况下,手术是其次为术后化疗( 7 ) 。

如果被确诊癌症的早期阶段上述治疗可以用来彻底根除肿瘤。 但是,实际的目标,任何类型的腹膜间皮瘤治疗通常不是总治愈率。 相反,由于肿瘤往往是在其诊断的后期阶段,其主要治疗目标是疼痛管理,症状减轻,并改善生活质量的病人。

为了改变的成功率腹膜间皮瘤治疗临床试验和深入研究目前正集中精力寻找一种治疗这一致命类型的癌症,并增加所需时间诊断和死亡。

与现行的医疗科学和技术的唯一途径增加的治愈机会在于早期发现。 个人与历史的接触石棉呼吁定期医疗体检,并告知他们的医生的接触石棉和间皮瘤的风险。 未来的发现是一个希望,诊断技术将改善和早期发现将会更容易,更准确。

'腹膜间皮瘤的资源:

  • Sridhar堪萨斯州,等。 :新战略,需要在弥漫性恶性胸膜间皮瘤。 癌症1992年, 70:2969-2979 。
  • 安特曼钾等。 :恶性胸膜间皮瘤:预后变数登记180例, Dana - Farber癌症研究所和布里格姆妇女医院的经验超过20年, 65年至85年。 临床肿瘤学1988年, 6:147-153 。
  • Asensio茉莉:原发性恶性腹膜间皮瘤:一份报告, 7例和文献复习。 拱外科1990年, 125:477-481 。
  • Attanoos北京:病理恶性间皮瘤。 病理组织学1997年, 30:403-418 。
  • 维达尔- Jove J ,等。 :一种治疗办法,腹部间皮瘤:病例报告及文献复习。 1991年第癌症治疗, 3:269-274 。
  • 瓦格纳巴埃纳:弥漫性胸膜间皮瘤和石棉暴露在北西开普省。 溴J工业杂志1960年, 17:260-271 。
  • 马克蒙男:腹腔治疗管理中的腹膜间皮瘤。 J灌注化疗1993年, 3:50-52 。
  • Zidar基本法,等。 :治疗6例间皮瘤与阿霉素,顺铂。 癌症1983年, 52:1788-1791 。
  • Biset D组:治标不治本的作用放疗恶性间皮瘤。 临床肿瘤学1991年, 3:315-317 。

更多信息可在http://www.asbestos.net/

没有评论

评论已经关闭。

Peritoneal Mesothelioma

This article on Peritoneal Mesotheliomagoes into clearer detail on what is involved, how ti is caused and options for treatment.
Peritoneal mesothelioma is a rare form of cancer that is extremely difficult to diagnose and treat, and which in most cases, leads to death.

Peritoneal mesothelioma is a type of cancer that affects the lining of the abdomen. This lining is called the peritoneum and is responsible for covering and supporting the organs housed in the abdominal cavity, and also for secreting fluid that allows these organs to move against each other smoothly. Peritoneal mesothelioma attacks the cells in this lining causing them to over secrete fluid, which leads to abdominal swelling. The peritoneal mesothelioma tumor also kills the healthy cells in the abdominal cavity and encourages the growth of abnormal cells that can spread to other parts of the body.

The only known cause of peritoneal mesothelioma is a history of asbestos exposure. This type of cancer is caused by the settlement of microscopic asbestos particles in the abdominal lining. It is currently proven that materials containing asbestos can release fine particles, also called asbestos dust, when undergoing installation, repair, maintenance, or destruction. What is not completely understood is how this asbestos dust becomes lodges in the abdominal lining.

One theory is that the particles are inhaled and then transported through the blood stream or lymphatic system to the abdominal cavity. However, the most widely accepted theory is that the asbestos dust settles on the food items that are ingested by workers at lunch or carried home on the clothing of workers and allowed to settle in the kitchen where other meals are prepared. In this theory the asbestos fibers are ingested along with the food and allowed to settle in the stomach. Over a long period of time these fibers move from the stomach to the peritoneum where they cause chronic inflammation that eventually leads to the development of cancer.

After exposure to asbestos dust peritoneal mesothelioma can take up to 30 years to produce symptoms, but the period between diagnosis and death is shortest for this type of cancer. Peritoneal mesothelioma is just one type of cancer caused by asbestos, and it is extremely rare, comprising just one third of all mesothelioma cases (1, 2, 3).

In the early stages of the disease, where the fibers are moving into the peritoneum, there are no noticeable symptoms. However, once the inflammation begins the first noticeable symptom is usually abdominal pain. Since abdominal pain can be associated with a number of different viruses, infections, and stomach ailments many sufferers do not immediately seek medical attention for their symptoms.

As the disease progresses affected individuals will notice symptoms such as abdominal swelling (due to excess fluid retention), weight loss (even though the size or girth of the waist may be increasing), nausea, vomiting, breathing difficulties, loss of appetite, and weakness (3,5). In later stages symptoms such as bowel obstruction, fever, anemia, and new-onset hernia may present (5).

It is usually after the individual has dealt with a number of these symptoms for a peiod of months that they finally seek medical attention in the belief that they are suffering from a more usual type of digestive problem such as gallstones or hernia.

The diagnosis of peritoneal mesothelioma is difficult at best. After confirming a history of asbestos exposure the doctor will run numerous tests to confirm or deny the suspicion of peritoneal mesothelioma. The first of these test usually involve imaging of the suspected site. Traditional x-rays can be used to check the abdominal cavity for suspicious growths but MRIs and CT scans will offer a more detailed view.

After determining the location of the suspected mesothelioma most doctors will order a tissue biopsy to ultimately confirm the diagnosis of cancer. For the biopsy a small needle is inserted into the abdominal mass and a sample of the abnormal tissue is removed. This tissue is analyzed and a positive immunostain for calretinin confirms an accurate diagnosis of peritoneal mesothelioma (4).

With most other cases of mesothelioma a staging system is used after diagnosis to determine the progress of the disease and the most effective treatment options. However, there is currently not an established staging system available for use with peritoneal mesothelioma (6). Some doctors may choose to stage the disease under the guidelines of the TNM cancer staging system, but most physicians skip this process and move immediately to treatment.

With current medical options peritoneal mesothelioma treatment is often unsatisfactory. Surgical removal of the tumor has not been proven to prolong survival rates, radiation therapy used alone does not eradicate the tumor, and chemotherapy has proven ineffective in most patients (7,8).

The most promising options for treatment involve a multimodality approach. In this method radiation therapy is aimed at the tumor to reduce the size and kill the cancerous cells. This procedure results in pain relief and a decrease in abdominal swelling (9). Chemotherapy is then used via insertion directly into abdomen to further shrink the size of the tumor (5). Finally surgery is utilized to remove all, or almost all, of the visible tumor. In most cases surgery is then followed by postoperative chemotherapy (7).

If the cancer is diagnosed in the earliest stages the above treatment can be used to completely eradicate the tumor. However, the actual goal of any type of peritoneal mesothelioma treatment is not usually a total cure. Rather, since the tumor is most often diagnosed in its later stages, the main treatment goal is pain management, symptom relief, and an improvement in the quality of life of the patient.

In order to change the success rate of peritoneal mesothelioma treatment clinical trials and intensive research are currently focused on finding a cure for this deadly type of cancer and at increasing the time period between diagnosis and death.

With current medical science and technology the only way to increase the chance of cure lies in early detection. Individuals with a history of asbestos exposure are urged to schedule regular medical physicals and inform their doctors of the asbestos exposure and mesothelioma risk. With future discoveries lies a hope that the diagnosis technology will improve and early detection will be easier and more accurate.

‘Peritoneal Mesothelioma’ Resources:

  • Sridhar KS, et al.: New strategies are needed in diffuse malignant mesothelioma. Cancer 1992, 70:2969-2979.
  • Antman K, et al.: Malignant mesothelioma: prognostic variables in a registry of 180 patients, the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham and Women’s Hospital experience over two decades, 1965-1985. J Clin Oncol 1988, 6:147-153.
  • Asensio JA: Primary malignant peritoneal mesothelioma: a report of seven cases and a review of the literature. Arch Surg 1990, 125:477-481.
  • Attanoos RL: Pathology of malignant mesothelioma. Histopathology 1997, 30:403-418.
  • Vidal-Jove J, et al.: A curative approach to abdominal mesothelioma: case report and review of the literature. Reg Cancer Treat 1991, 3:269-274.
  • Wagner JC: Diffuse pleural mesothelioma and asbestos exposure in the North Western Cape Province. Br J Ind Med 1960, 17:260-271.
  • Markman M: Intraperitoneal therapy in the management of peritoneal mesothelioma. J Infusional Chemother 1993, 3:50-52.
  • Zidar BL, et al.: Treatment of six cases of mesothelioma with doxorubicin and cisplatin. Cancer 1983, 52:1788-1791.
  • Biset D: The role of palliative radiotherapy in malignant mesothelioma. Clin Oncol 1991, 3:315-317.

More information can be found at http://www.asbestos.net/

No Comments

Comments are closed.